skip to content

Archive for the 'awards' Category

Schools Use Readathon to Shadow Carnegie Medals

01 May 2012 at 12:31

Logo for CILIP book awardsWith the shortlist for the 2012 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Book Awards recently announced, many schools are following the Awards process via the scheme's excellent shadowing site.

Some schools are using the Awards as the theme for their annual Readathon sponsored read. At least one, Ranelagh School, had the foresight to save the free book vouchers they earned with their previous Readathon to buy copies of the shortlisted books for their school library. (Readathon schools earn free book vouchers worth 20% of their Readathon sponsorship money.)

Both medals are awarded annually by children's librarians at CILIP (The Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals). 

  • The Carnegie Medal is awarded for an outstanding book for children and young people. (see shortlist)
  • The Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded for an outstanding illustration of a book for children and young people. (see shortlist)

With the winners due to be announced at 1pm on 14 June, there's still plenty of time (including half term) to get pupils reading these fabulous books. They can review the books and choose their favourites – and maybe they'll predict the real winners!

If you'd like to shadow the Awards via a Readathon, please click here to order your free Readathon resource pack which should arrive within 5 working days.


Tags: CILIP | Carnegie Children's Book Award | Kate Greenaway Children's Book Award | 2012

Posted in Readathon sponsored read | awards | No Comments

Wimps Beat Wizards & Spies - Official!

02 March 2012 at 11:48

Blue Peter logoJeff Kinney's Diary of A Wimpy Kid has been awarded Blue Peter Best Children's Book of the Last 10 Years. Children were asked to vote for titles in a shortlist of the decade's ten bestselling children's books, which included stories about Hogwarts wizard Harry Potter by J K Rowling and the tale of the young James Bond by Charlie Higson.

For the full story, please click here.

Posted in authors | awards | No Comments